帮助
构建下一个Wi-Fi HaLow创新所需要的资源

常见问题解答

以下是您需要了解的关于摩尔斯微、物联网、Wi-Fi HaLow,以及我们所提供的技术解决方案的信息。

“普通” Wi-Fi和Wi-Fi HaLow有什么区别?

“普通” Wi-Fi旨在… …快速传输数据,让您能够使用2.4 GHz、5 Ghz和6 GHz无线电频道,快速传输电影和下载文件。这些连接的有效距离很短,传输设备的电池消耗很快,需要频繁充电或使用电源持续供电。 Wi-Fi HaLow使用1 GHz以下较窄的无线电频道,有效连接距离可达普通Wi-Fi 的10倍。 Wi-Fi HaLow是物联网设备的完美之选,这些设备需要在更远的距离建立更可靠的连接,并且利用Wi-Fi HaLow新加入的睡眠模式,以达到节省功耗的目的。 Wi-Fi HaLow作为新一类的产品,能在电池供电的条件下运行数年,并且仍能提供许多Mbps的带宽。Wi-Fi HaLow的国际标准是IEEE 802.11ah。

IEEE 802.11ah和Wi-Fi HaLow之间,有什么区别?

您可能会听到这些术语可以互换使用,但是 …区别在于:IEEE 802.11ah是电气和电子工程师协会(简称IEEE),于2016年通过的一项技术标准。这是一份大约600页的大型文档,已添加到1,000余页的IEEE 802.11无线局域网标准。该标准定义了如何通过无线方式,传输和接收数据的所有详细信息。 802.11ah专门为物联网应用而定义,以增加诸如低功耗运行、更远距离和更高设备密度等性能的详细描述。除IEEE 802.11ah之外,还有其他传统的IEEE无线局域网标准,例如802.11a,b,g,n,ac,ax等。 Wi-Fi联盟(WFA.org)由芯片和设备供应商组成,旨在通过客观测试和认证,确保各种IEEE 802.11产品之间的兼容性。 对于消费者来说,“IEEE 802.11”并不是一个非常顺口的名称,因此Wi-Fi联盟将这项技术称为“ Wi-Fi”。Wi-Fi联盟已经创建了“ Wi-Fi HaLow(™)”品牌,并正在制定一项认证计划,以测试设备是否符合IEEE802.11ah和其他互通性要求。其他Wi-Fi品牌,例如Wi-Fi 4、5或6,则指的是IEEE 802.11 n / ac / ax技术。

Wi-Fi HaLow有多快?

Wi-Fi HaLow的数据传输速率与传统Wi-Fi类似,这意味着 离路由器越近,连接速度就越快。这些“ MCS速率”由IEEE 802.11ah标准定义。对于单流设备来说,距离最远的最低速度大约从150Kbps开始,随着距离的缩短,最低速度可以增加到超过80 Mbps。与传统Wi-Fi类似,Wi-Fi HaLow数据速率可在接入点(AP)和设备之间,被自动管理和协调。

是什么让Wi-Fi HaLow比传统Wi-Fi覆盖范围更广?

传统Wi-Fi的工作频段为2.4GHz和5GHz。 而Wi-Fi HaLow 的工作频段低于1GHz。低频信号传播得更远,耗电更少,穿透建筑材料的效果也更好。与传统Wi-Fi 相比,Wi-Fi HaLow还采用较窄的信道。较低的无线电频率和较窄的信道,意味着Wi-Fi HaLow的传播距离提高了10倍

Wi-Fi HaLow如何节省电量?

与传统的Wi-Fi和其他PAN、LAN和WAN技术相比,Wi-Fi HaLow有几个关键功能可以节省电量:

与传统Wi-Fi或其他使用2.4GHz的技术相比,Wi-Fi HaLow在低于1Ghz的较窄信道上,以更低的功率,传播距离更远,穿透建筑材料效果更佳。

Wi-Fi Halow多种睡眠模式,允许HaLow传感器可以节省电池电量,而无需监听频繁的信标,或中继网络中其他设备的数据流量。

“先听后讲”存取方案,可防止由于其他网络技术中发生的冲突而导致的不必要重传。

一个基站可以连接多少个设备?

一个基站或一个接入点,最多可以服务8,191个节点或客户机设备(也称为站点)。

是否可以使用现有的智能手机、平板电脑、智能音箱与Wi-Fi HaLow设备连接?

可以,Wi-Fi HaLow设备通过Wi-Fi HaLow路由器连接到互联网。 任何连接到互联网的设备,都可以使用与传统Wi-Fi相同的方式与Wi-Fi HaLow设备进行通信。 具有Wi-Fi HaLow功能的移动产品,可以设计为直接连接到物联网设备,也可以跨越长距离以点对点的方式相互连接。

如何获取更多技术信息?

Check out the following pages:

科技创新 ,提供有关Wi-Fi HaLow的详细技术信息,以及与其他技术进行的比较;
产品信息, 概述最新的Wi-Fi HaLow产品系列及其主要功能;
应用领域, 列出典型的Wi-Fi HaLow用例,以及了解摩尔斯微的Wi-Fi HaLow特性,如何使这些应用领域受益

若有任何疑问,请联系我们获取更多信息

SUPPORT
Resources you need to help build your next Wi-Fi HaLow innovation.

F.A.Q.

Here’s what you need to know about Morse Micro, the Internet of Things, Wi-Fi HaLow and our technical solution.

What's the difference between “ordinary” Wi-Fi and Wi-Fi HaLow?

“Ordinary” Wi-Fi is designed to transfer data fast – enabling you to stream movies and download files quickly using wide channels of radio frequencies in the 2.4 GHz, 5 Ghz and 6 GHz bands. The effective distances for these connections are short and they drain batteries fast, requiring frequent charging or constant power. Wi-Fi HaLow uses narrower channels of radio frequencies under 1 GHz with connections reaching up to 10 times farther. Wi-Fi HaLow is perfect for IoT devices which require more robust connections at farther distances, and can take advantage of new sleep modes that save power. Wi-Fi HaLow enables a new class of products that can run off batteries for years, and still offers many Mbps of data throughput. The international standard that describes Wi-Fi HaLow is IEEE 802.11ah.

What is the difference between IEEE 802.11ah and Wi-Fi HaLow?

You may hear these terms used interchangeably, but here is the difference: IEEE 802.11ah is a technical standard from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, adopted in 2016. It is a large document of around 600 pages which was added to the 1000+ pages of IEEE 802.11 wireless LAN standards. It defines all the exact details of how to transmit and receive data over the air. 802.11ah was defined purposefully for IoT applications to add capabilities such as lower power operation, longer distances, and higher density of devices. There are other legacy IEEE wireless LAN standards such as 802.11a, b, g, n, ac, ax, and so on. The Wi-Fi Alliance (WFA.org) was formed by vendors of chips and devices who wanted to ensure compatibility between various IEEE 802.11 products through objective testing and certification. “IEEE 802.11” was not a very consumer-friendly name, so the Wi-Fi Alliance branded the general technology as “Wi-Fi”. The Wi-Fi Alliance has created the brand “Wi-Fi HaLow”, and is developing a certification program to test devices for compliance to IEEE802.11ah and other interoperability requirements. Other Wi-Fi brands, such as Wi-Fi 4, 5 or 6 refer to the IEEE 802.11 n/ac/ax technologies.

How fast is Wi-Fi HaLow?

Wi-Fi HaLow’s data rates scale similarly to legacy Wi-Fi data rates, which means that the closer you get to a router, the faster your connection gets. These “MCS rates” are defined by IEEE 802.11ah. The lowest speed at the farthest distance starts at approximately 150 kbps, and increases at shorter distances to over 80 Mbps for single-stream devices. Similar to legacy Wi-Fi, Wi-Fi HaLow data rates can be automatically managed between the AP and device.

What makes Wi-Fi HaLow reach farther than conventional Wi-Fi?

Conventional Wi-Fi operates in the 2.4GHz and 5GHz radio bands. Wi-Fi HaLow however operates in bands below 1 GHz. The lower frequency signal travels farther, using less power, and passes through objects better. Wi-Fi HaLow also operates with narrow channels than conventional Wi-Fi. The lower radio band and narrower channels mean that Wi-Fi HaLow travels 10 times farther.

How does Wi-Fi HaLow save power?

There are several key features of Wi-Fi HaLow that save power compared to legacy Wi-Fi and other PAN, LAN and WAN technologies:

Narrower channels of radio frequencies below 1 Ghz travel farther and penetrate through building materials much better at lower power for Wi-Fi HaLow than legacy Wi-Fi or other technologies using 2.4GHz.

Multiple sleep modes allow HaLow sensors to conserve battery power without having to listen for frequent beacons, or to relay other device traffic used in mesh networks.

Listen-before-talk access scheme prevents unnecessary retransmissions due to collisions with other sensors.

How many devices can connect to one base station?

One base station, or Access Point, can service up to 8191 nodes or client devices, which are also referred to as stations.

Will I be able to use my existing Smart Phone, Tablet, Smart Speaker device to connect with Wi-Fi HaLow devices?

Yes, Wi-Fi HaLow devices connect to the internet via a Wi-Fi HaLow router. Any device connected to the internet will be able to communicate with Wi-Fi HaLow devices in the same method as traditional Wi-Fi. Mobile Products with Wi-Fi HaLow capability could be designed to connect directly to IoT devices or in Peer-to-Peer connection with each other, across very long distances.

How can I find out more technical details?

Check out the following pages:

Technology for more detailed technical information about Wi-Fi HaLow and comparisons with other technologies; Product provide overview of key features supported by our latest Wi-Fi HaLow product family; Applications list typical Wi-Fi HaLow use cases where you can learn how Morse Micro’s Wi-Fi HaLow attributes benefit those applications;

If there are any additional questions, contact us for more info